Sharing on Facebook
Facebook is all about sharing with your friends. You can share a lot of things, such as status updates, photos, links, and even your location. You can also share something directly with your friends by posting on their Timelines.
Before you share anything on Facebook, you'll need to think about who you're sharing with. You can review our lessons on Understanding Facebook Privacy and Adjusting Your Privacy Settings to learn more.
You'll use the Publisher to share things with your friends. You can access the Publisher in two places:
One of the most common things people share on Facebook is a status update—a short text-based post your friends can read and comment on. When you post a status update, it will appear on your Timeline, as well as on your friends' News Feeds.
If you want to share something with a friend, you can post it directly on that friend's Timeline. To do this, simply use the Publisher located on your friend's Timeline.
Note that you cannot control privacy settings for the things you share on your friends' Timelines. For this reason, you should think carefully before posting anything that might be considered inappropriate or embarrassing. If you don't want other people to see your post, you can send your friend a private message instead.