Filtering Records

In Access XP filtering records may seem confusing at first. This free lesson offers step-by-step instructions.

Saving a filter

Access defaults to displaying all records in a table. Filters are not initially applied to the table. Filtering table records actually changes the table design. When you attempt to close a table after a filter, Access will prompt you to save the changes to the table design.

To save a filter:

  • Exit the table.
  • Click Yes in response to the question, Do you want to save changes to the table?

    Save Changes Confirmation

    The filter order is saved.

When you open the table or form later, all of the records will be visible. Click the Apply Filter button to reapply the filter. However, Access saves only the last filter you create.

You can apply filters to filtered data to further narrow your search.

To cancel a filter:

  • Exit the table.
  • Click No in response to the question, Do you want to save changes to the table?

    The change is not saved; the table remains in its original design.