In Excel track changes and comments when proofreading worksheets. Also share Excel workbooks with others easily.
When you need to collaborate on the content of a spreadsheet—or if you need someone to proofread your worksheet—Excel's Track Changes and Comments features make it easier for you to collaborate with others.
Optional: You can download this example for extra practice.
When you turn on the Track Changes option, every change you make to the worksheet will be highlighted with a unique border and indicator. Hovering your mouse over a highlighted cell will display the details of the change. This allows the other person to see what changes have been made before making them permanent.
The color of the highlights will vary depending on who's reviewing the document, so if there are multiple reviewers you'll be able to tell at a glance who made each change.
There are some changes that Excel cannot track. Familiarize yourself with changes that Excel does not track or highlight.
Your workbook will be shared automatically when you turn on Track Changes. Shared workbooks are designed to be stored where other users—such as users on the same network—can access and edit the workbook at the same time. However, you can also track changes in a local or personal copy, as seen throughout this lesson.
Turning off Track Changes will delete any tracking that has taken place in your workbook. You will not be able to view, accept, or reject changes; instead, they will be applied to your workbook automatically. Always review the changes in your worksheet before turning off Track Changes.