Learn how to adjust your Facebook privacy settings to change who can see your posts in this free lesson.
A tag is a way to identify people on Facebook by posting their names and a link to their individual Timelines. Your friends can tag you in photos and in other posts, including status updates. Anyone who can see these posts will be able to click the tag and view your Timeline. The tagged post will also be visible on your Timeline, your News Feed, and your friends' feeds.
While tags make it easy to connect with your friends on Facebook, your friends may occasionally tag you in posts you don't want to share. One way to prevent yourself from being tagged in potentially embarrassing photos and posts is to manage your tagging settings.
To access these settings, navigate to the settings page, then select Timeline and Tagging.
Click the buttons in the interactive below to learn about your Timeline and Tagging settings.
Your Timeline is where people can post links, photos, and more. By default, all friends can post to your Timeline. We recommend leaving this set to Friends so your friends can post on your Timeline.
When you enable Timeline Review, you'll be notified whenever your friends tag you in a post or photo. You'll then have the option to approve or reject the post. Only posts you approve will appear on your Timeline.
Click View As to see what your Timeline looks like when viewed by different people. For example, you can see how your Timeline would appear to your friends or people you aren't friends with.
By default, this option is set to Friends of Friends. Because Friends of Friends almost certainly includes many people you don't know, we recommend changing this setting to Friends or Only Me.
By default, this option is set to Friends of Friends, meaning that you, your friends, and your friends' friends can all see posts that your friends have shared on your Timeline. Because Friends of Friends almost certainly includes many people you don't know, we recommend changing this setting to Friends or Only Me.
When your friends comment on the things you share, like posts and photos, they can tag themselves and others. Tag Review allows you to review these tags before they're added to your posts, then choose to approve or reject them.
By default, this option is set to Friends. Whenever you're tagged in a post, you and your friends will be able to see the post, even if your friends are not friends with the original poster. If you don't want all of your friends to be included, change this setting to Only Me.
When Tag Suggestions are turned on, Facebook will try to identify you in your friends' photos to suggest that they tag you. While Facebook does use facial recognition technology to make these suggestions, this feature will not tag you automatically or identify you to people who aren't your friends. Still, if you want to turn off Tag Suggestions for privacy reasons, select No One.