Saving and Sharing Documents

Save and share Microsoft Word 2016 documents to your computer or OneDrive account. Use the export as PDF Word function as well.

Sharing documents

Word 2013 makes it easy to share and collaborate on documents using OneDrive. In the past, if you wanted to share a file with someone you could send it as an email attachment. While convenient, this system also creates multiple versions of the same file, which can be difficult to organize.

When you share a document from Word 2013, you're actually giving others access to the exact same file. This lets you and the people you share with edit the same document without having to keep track of multiple versions.

In order to share a document, it must first be saved to your OneDrive.

To share a document:

  1. Click the File tab to access Backstage view, then click Share.
    Screenshot of Word 2013Clicking Share
  2. The Share pane will appear.

Click the buttons in the interactive below to learn more about different ways to share a document.

labeled graphic

Post to Blog

From here, you can use Word to post entries directly to your blog if you use one of the supported blogging sites such as SharePoint Blog, WordPress, or Blogger.

Present Online

From here, you can share your document online as a live presentation. This may be especially helpful during conference calls.

Word will generate a link others can open in their web browser. You can pause to make changes to the document and then resume the presentation.

Email

From here, you can share your document directly through Microsoft Outlook 2013.

Post to Social Networks

From here, you can post a link to your document on any social network you've connected with your Microsoft account, such as Facebook or LinkedIn. You'll also have the option to include a personal message and set editing permissions.

Get a Sharing LInk

From here, you can obtain a link you can use to share your document. For example, you could post the link on your blog or email it to a larger group of people. You can decide if the link allows people to edit or simply view the document.

Invite People

From here, you'll be able to invite others to view or edit a document. We recommend using this option most of the time because it gives you the greatest level of control and privacy when sharing a document.

This option is selected by default whenever you access the Share pane.

Share Options

This pane will change depending on which sharing method you select. You'll be able to choose various options to control how you share your presentation.

For example, you can decide if the people you share with will have permissions to edit or simply view the document.